COVID-19 Updates

Quick Guide to What Parents and Students Should Know About COVID-19’s Effects on ACCESS and Your College Journey:

 

This Q & A is being updated to reflect latest developments at ACCESS in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. It was last updated April 9, 2020, at 4:43 pm EST.

 

Q: Is ACCESS College Foundation being proactive to offer services to students?
A:
The ACCESS Program Management Team and the Advisors are doing several things to lessen the stress of this unprecedented situation.  ACCESS College Foundation is still fully operational and working remotely to serve students and families in our community.

Q: Are the ACCESS headquarters and its school-based offices currently open for in-person visits?
A:
No.  Effective Monday, March 16, all ACCESS staff began telecommuting with the plan of returning to their respective workplaces on Monday, March 30th.  This, of course, may change based on the health situation in our community, the decisions mandated by our government, and the practicality of re-opening our offices on that date.  ACCESS staff is available via phone, email, and Skype/FaceTime communication. High School Advisory Staff contact information can be found below and all staff contact information can be found on our “High School Advisor"  page.

Q: How are ACCESS Advisors currently assisting students?
A:
Depending on what resources are available in each school district and for each Advisor at his/her home, ACCESS High School and College Success Advisors are serving students virtually using various platforms such as Skype, Group Me, Remind, Email, and Google Phone.  Each platform enables a two-way exchange of information between both the student and Advisor ensuring that each student receives an advisory experience comparable to an in-person meeting.

Q: Are ACCESS Advisors still assisting students with filing their FAFSAs?
A: Yes, ACCESS Advisors are still assisting with the filing of the FAFSA.

Q: Are ACCESS Advisors still assisting students with the verification process?
A:
Yes, currently our Advisors are assisting students with the verification process including resolving issues with admission status and financial aid for the upcoming school year.

Q: Are ACCESS Advisors still reviewing and explaining financial aid award letters that students have received?
A:
Yes. There are still deadlines to meet for accepting financial aid awards to ensure that the funds are there to begin classes in Fall 2020.

Q: What are ACCESS Advisors doing to promote SAT/ACT preparation?
A:
ACCESS Advisors are encouraging high school juniors to continue working on SAT prep in the College Board’s online Khan Academy. The SATs/ACTs in March and April have been cancelled, and College Board will be refunding money to all students who have prepaid for the exams.  Currently, SAT is offering a June 6th exam and ACT is offering a June 13th exam to give juniors a jump on the process for next year.  If students need assistance with registering, ACCESS Advisors are available to assist virtually with registration and payment.

Q: Are ACCESS Scholarships still available?
A:
Yes, ACCESS Scholarships are still available.  All applications must be submitted online and completed by the application deadline: May 4, 2020.  To apply for an ACCESS Scholarship, visit our “Scholarship Application” page.

Q: What effects are the current closures having on high school seniors’ college journey. 
A:
When examining the effects of the current closures on the class of 2020 it is clear that the process of completing the final details associated with admission and financial aid is going to be very different—and sometimes difficult depending on what is missing from the file the college has on the student.  For example, if students have been selected for verification, all the verification documents will need to be completed and submitted to the college financial aid office by their deadline before students will receive any type of financial aid for next year.  Students in verification should contact their ACCESS Advisor right away!

Q: What are the colleges saying?
A:
Currently, colleges and universities are working to create and establish new deadlines for final transcripts, acceptance confirmations, and everything in between. ACCESS is compiling that information for our Advisors so they can disseminate to their students.  Please visit our “Updated College and University Commitment Dates” page to see a comprehensive list of colleges and universities that have changed their commitment date to June 1, 2020.

 

ACCESS College Foundation
Virtual Advising Contact Information

Norfolk Virtual Advising Contact Information


High School

Booker T. Washington High School

Jacqueline Whitehead

ACCESS Email
jwhitehead@accesscollege.org
School Email
jwhitehead@nps.k12.va.us
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @btwschol or @34344h to 81010
Direct Phone
757.524.0127

Norview High School

Mary Carter Scott

ACCESS Email
mscott@accesscollege.org
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @2020pilots (Seniors) or @2021pilots (Juniors) to 81010

Granby High School

Megan Ulanich

ACCESS Email
mulanich@accesscollege.org
School Email
mulanich@nps.k12.va.us
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @granbyc to 81010

Maury High School

Darius Blount

ACCESS Email
dblount@accesscollege.org
School Email
dblount2@nps.k12.va.us
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @maury2020 to 81010
Direct Phone
757.550.4015

Lake Taylor High School

Arthur Kelly

ACCESS Email
akelly@accesscollege.org
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @lthsclasso to 81010

Middle School

Academy for Discovery at Lakewood

Jessica McClenney

ACCESS Email
jmmclenney@accesscollege.org

Southside STEM Academy at Campostella

Peggy Johnson

ACCESS Email
pjohnson@accesscollege.org

Lake Taylor Middle

Peggy Johnson

ACCESS Email
pjohnson@accesscollege.org

Ruffner Academy

Peggy Johnson

ACCESS Email
pjohnson@accesscollege.org

AOIS @ Rosemont

Peggy Johnson

ACCESS Email
pjohnson@accesscollege.org

Azalea Gardens Middle

Peggy Johnson

ACCESS Email
pjohnson@accesscollege.org

Northside Middle

Peggy Johnson

ACCESS Email
pjohnson@accesscollege.org

Crossroads School

Jessica McClenney

ACCESS Email
jmmclenney@accesscollege.org

Blair Middle

Peggy Johnson

ACCESS Email
pjohnson@accesscollege.org

Norview Middle

Peggy Johnson

ACCESS Email
pjohnson@accesscollege.org

 

Portsmouth Virtual Advising Contact Information


High School

Churchland High School

Christian Howton

ACCESS Email
chowton@accesscollege.org
School Email
christian.howton@portsk12.com
REMIND App Sign-up
Text the following codes to 81010: @truckers20 (Seniors), @truckers21 (Juniors), @truckers22 (Sophomores), @truckers23 (Freshmen)
Direct Phone
757.606.0080

I.C. Norcom High School

Joanne Forbes

ACCESS Email
jforbes@accesscollege.org
School Email
joanne.forbes@portsk12.com
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @fb2462 to 81010
Direct Phone
757.550.0858

Woodrow Wilson High School

Mindy McCoin

ACCESS Email
mccoin@accesscollege.org
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @879f8b to 81010
Direct Phone
757.550.1592

Middle School

Cradock Middle

Jessica McClenney

ACCESS Email
jmmclenney@accesscollege.org

Churchland Middle

Jessica McClenney

ACCESS Email
jmmclenney@accesscollege.org

Waters Middle

Jessica McClenney

ACCESS Email
jmmclenney@accesscollege.org

 

Chesapeake Virtual Advising Contact Information


High School

Deep Creek High School

Gabe Hall

ACCESS Email
ghall@accesscollege.org
School Email
gabriel.hall@cpschools.com

Hickory High School

Kyle Williams

ACCESS Email
kwilliams@accesscollege.org
School Email
kyle.williams@cpschools.com
Direct Phone
757.550.1947

Western Branch High School

Joshua Mann

ACCESS Email
jmann@accesscollege.org
REMIND App Sign-up
Text the following codes to 81010:(In Alpha Order) @wb20a-i, @wb20j-r, @wb20s-z
Direct Phone
757.774.5871

Grassfield High School

Meghan Moorhouse

ACCESS Email
mmoorhouse@accesscollege.org
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @k3gckd (Seniors) or @ac3d26 (Juniors) to 81010
Direct Phone
757.550.0149

Indian River High School

Natasha Sackey

ACCESS Email
nsackey@accesscollege.org
School Email
natasha.sackey@cpschools.com
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @accessir to 81010
Direct Phone
757.524.0499

Great Bridge High School

Meghan Moorhouse

ACCESS Email
mmoorhouse@accesscollege.org
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @gbhsclas (Seniors) or @9gekhc (Juniors) to 81010
Direct Phone
757.550.0149

Oscar Smith High School

Apollos Hall

ACCESS Email
ahall@accesscollege.org
School Email
apollos.hall@cpschools.com
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @apollosha to 81010
Direct Phone
757.550.1838

Middle School

Crestwood Middle

Stephanie Carswell

ACCESS Email
scarswell@accesscollege.org

Oscar Smith Middle

Stephanie Carswell

ACCESS Email
scarswell@accesscollege.org

Deep Creek Middle

Stephanie Carswell

ACCESS Email
scarswell@accesscollege.org

Indian River Middle

Stephanie Carswell

ACCESS Email
scarswell@accesscollege.org

 

Suffolk Virtual Advising Contact Information


High School

King's Fork High School

Adrienne Miller

ACCESS Email
amiller@accesscollege.org
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @7kb2ff to 81010
Direct Phone
757.550.1672

Lakeland High School

Shawn Foster

ACCESS Email
sfoster@accesscollege.org
School Email
shawnkfoster@spsk12.net
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @20lakeland (Seniors), @21lakeland (Juniors), @22lakeland (Sophomores), @23lakeland (Freshmen) to 81010
Direct Phone
757.774.5122 

Nansemond River High School

Charlene Harvin

ACCESS Email
charvin@accesscollege.org
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @nrhs202 to 81010
Direct Phone
757.301.1438

Middle School

Forest Glen Middle

Jessica McClenney

ACCESS Email
jmcclenney@accesscollege.org

J.F. Kennedy Middle

Jessica McClenney

ACCESS Email
jmcclenney@accesscollege.org

Kings Fork Middle

Jessica McClenney

ACCESS Email
jmcclenney@accesscollege.org

 

Virginia Beach Virtual Advising Contact Information


High School

Bayside High School

David Kidd

ACCESS Email
dkidd@accesscollege.org
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @c6cde3k to 81010 

Kellam High School

Sara Gastler

ACCESS Email
sgastler@accesscollege.org
Direct Phone
757.563.4630

Ocean Lakes High School

Marlisa Sanders

ACCESS Email
msanders@accesscollege.org
Direct Phone
757.775.2430

Tallwood High School

Sara Gastler

ACCESS Email
sgastler@accesscollege.org
Direct Phone
757.563.4630

Frank W. Cox High School

Adria Phillips

ACCESS Email
aphillips@accesscollege.org
Direct Phone
757.563.6603

First Colonial High School

Charlene Harvin

ACCESS Email
charvin@accesscollege.org
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @FCHS2020 (Seniors) or @FCH2020 to 81010
Direct Phone
757.301.1438

Kempsville High School

Dylan Altman

ACCESS Email
daltman@accesscollege.org
Direct Phone
757.550.0671

Princess Anne High School

Adria Phillips

ACCESS Email
aphillips@accesscollege.org
Direct Phone
757.563.6603

Green Run High School/Collegiate

Cameron Williams

ACCESS Email
cwilliams@accesscollege.org
Direct Phone
757.524.0786

Landstown High School

Jenny Hechtkopf

ACCESS Email
jhechtkopf@accesscollege.org
REMIND App Sign-up
Text @jhechtk to 81010
Direct Phone
757. 514.1473

Salem High School

Marlisa Sanders

ACCESS Email
msanders@accesscollege.org
Direct Phone
757.775.2430

Middle School

Bayside Middle

Stephanie Carswell

ACCESS Email
scarswell@accesscollege.org

Independence Middle

Stephanie Carswell

ACCESS Email
scarswell@accesscollege.org

Virginia Beach Middle

Stephanie Carswell

ACCESS Email
scarswell@accesscollege.org

Brandon Middle

Stephanie Carswell

ACCESS Email
scarswell@accesscollege.org

Larkspur Middle

Stephanie Carswell

ACCESS Email
scarswell@accesscollege.org

Corporate Landing Middle

Stephanie Carswell

ACCESS Email
scarswell@accesscollege.org

Plaza Middle

Stephanie Carswell

ACCESS Email
scarswell@accesscollege.org

 

Northampton County Virtual Advising Contact Information


High School

 

Northampton High School

Devin Allen

ACCESS Email
dallen@accesscollege.org
School Email
dallen@ncpsk12.com
Direct Phone
757.276.1521

 

Middle School

 

Northampton Middle

Devin Allen

ACCESS Email
dallen@accesscollege.org

 

 

Western Tidewater Virtual Advising Contact Information


High School

Franklin High School

LeAnne Cash

ACCESS Email
lcash@accesscollege.org
Direct Phone
757-359-0298

Southampton High School

LeAnne Cash

ACCESS Email
lcash@accesscollege.org
Direct Phone
757-359-0298

Surry High School

LeAnne Cash

ACCESS Email
lcash@accesscollege.org
Direct Phone
757-359-0298

 

College Success Advisors


Virtual Contact Information

Radford, Regent, TCCs, VCU

Mariah Benfield

ACCESS Email
mbenfield@accesscollege.org

GMU, LU, NSU, Other Scholars

Tiffany Palmer

ACCESS Email
tpalmer@accesscollege.org

ODU

Rachal Weaver

ACCESS Email
rweaver@accesscollege.org